Travel News: 10 Most Instagrammed Beaches, Tour Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, and Savor Minnesota’s Dark Sky

Lanikia Beach, Oahu, HawaiiA waterside view of Lanikai Beach, Oahu, Hawaii, with gentle surf, palm trees, and sunset.
Tomas Del Amo/Dreamstime

Lanikai Beach, on Oahu, HI, is one of the most Instagrammed beaches in the world.

There’s a great big world out there, and our latest “news you can use” may inspire a trip you never knew you needed.

From the beaches of Hawaii, the Caribbean, and beyond, to a tour devoted entirely to the life and work of children’s television pioneer Fred Rogers (for real), to the incredible night skies on display in Minnesota this summer, this week’s travel news is all about feel-good moments accessible to all travelers.

10 MOST INSTAGRAMMED BEACHES

If you’re like us, you’re slightly hooked on Instagram, especially when it comes to trip-inspiring images. So we were delighted when the data crunchers and discount seekers at Travel Supermarket analyzed hundreds of thousands of Instagram posts to deliver a truly cool list of the most-Instagrammed beaches in the world - a good number of which, not surprisingly, are in North America. Don’t forget to tag your own beautiful beach photos #MyBudgetTravel for a chance to appear in the @BudgetTravel Instagram feed. And brush up your bucket list with these top 10 beaches:

  1. Whitehaven Beach, Australia (129,585 tags, #whitehavenbeach)
  2. Lanikai Beach, Oahu, Hawaii (117,525 tags, #lanikaibeach)
  3. Horseshoe Bay, Bermuda (90,404 tags, #horseshoebay
  4. Cayo Coco Beach, Cuba (84,494 tags, #cayococo)
  5. Bavaro Beach, Dominican Republic (83,183 tags, #bavarobeach)
  6. Boulders Beach, South Africa (77,748 tags, #bouldersbeach)
  7. Bournemouth Beach, United Kingdom (72,503 tags, #bournemouthbeach)
  8. Pink Sands Beach, Bahamas (71,087 tags, #harbourisland)
  9. Ao Nang Beach, Thailand (60,812 tags, #aonangbeach)
  10. Playa Paraiso Beach, Mexico (60,381 tags, #playaparaiso)

TOUR MISTER ROGERS’ NEIGHBORHOOD

The pioneering children’s television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2018, and Fred Rogers’ home state of Pennsylvania is rolling out a tour unlike any other: the Fred Rogers Trail. If you grew up watching Rogers’ show on public television, or if your kids or grandkids have enjoyed the next-gen animated "reboot," Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, a trip to the heart of the Keystone State may be just what you need to restore your faith in the values of kindness, curiosity, and compassion that Rogers devoted himself and his program to. The three-day road trip kicks off in Rogers’ hometown, Latrobe, and includes an exhibit at Saint Vincent College, the Pennsylvania Trolley Museum, the Senator John Heinz History Center in downtown Pittsburgh (home to the largest collection of original set items from the show), and, of course, the Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh.

SAVOR MINNESOTA’S DARK SKY

What’s your best-ever summer memory? For many of us, it’s a warm night and a sky filled with stars. As truly dark skies become more scarce, and therefore more precious, plenty of Budget Travelers will be heading north this summer to savor Minnesota’s incredible night skies, where the stars, the Milky Way, Northern Lights, meteor showers, and other natural light wonders await. To escape the glow of city lights and traffic, head to some of the state’s northern destinations for hiking and paddling and stargazing in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, Voyageurs National Park, and Lake of the Woods and the Northwest Angle, the northernmost point in the lower 48 states.

More From Budget Travel

Related Content