• Chautauqua Institution

    Chautauqua County,

    New York

    zrfphoto / iStock
      Kayak logo
      Deals in Chautauqua County, New York
      DEALS IN Chautauqua County, New York

      Chautauqua County is the westernmost county in the U.S. state of New York. As of the 2020 census, the population was 127,657. Its county seat is Mayville, and its largest city is Jamestown.

      Its name is believed to be the lone surviving remnant of the Erie language, a tongue lost in the 17th century Beaver Wars; its meaning is unknown and a subject of speculation. The county was created in 1808 and organized in 1811.

      Chautauqua County comprises the Jamestown–Dunkirk–Fredonia, NY Micropolitan Statistical Area. It is located south of Lake Erie and includes a small portion of the Cattaraugus Reservation of the Seneca.

      logoFind more things to do, itinerary ideas, updated news and events, and plan your perfect trip to Chautauqua County

      Places near Chautauqua County